Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu
Lahad Datu
Kota Belud

Sayang Sabah - Berita Negeri Kita


KOTA KINABALU: The three regattas held annually by the Kinabalu Yacht Club is one of the avenues to produce gold medal winners in sailing for Sabah.

KYC Commodore Albert Shim said the championships provide the opportunity to unearth new talents that can be polished to represent Sabah and the country.

Albert Shim (standing centre at the back) with the winners. SNT Pix/Chris Maskilone

The three regattas are City Day Regatta, Harvest Festival Regatta and Merdeka Day Regatta.

Among the champions from KYC was Rufina Tan who won gold at the Doha Asian Games 2006 and reached the world ranking of number five.

Last year, Sabah won the gold in the Malaysian Games (Sukma) mixed team optimist category.

Albert Shim presenting the prize to the International 470 Open champions from NYCKK. SNT Pix/Chris Maskilone

He said this when met after the prize presentation ceremony of the 20th City Day Open Regatta 2019 (Feb 23 – 24) at the club house in Tanjung Aru today.

Meanwhile, Royal Malaysian Navy Yacht Club Kota Kinabalu (NYCKK) Commodore Syed Ahmad Helmi Syed Abdullah concurred saying sailing sports are not physical sports.

Syed Ahmad presenting the prize to one of the winners. SNT Pix/Chris Maskilone

“So our competitors have the advantage as long as they understand in reading the wind direction.

“There is no specific age or physical size requirement as long as they have good judgement they can participate in international competitions,” he said.

For this year City Day Open Regatta a total of seven teams comprising of 84 sailors took part.

KYC Vice Commodore Ronald Cooke presenting the prize to the Optimist Overall champion. SNT Pix/Chris Maskilone

In the International 470 Open the gold medal was won by the team from NYCKK Mohd Zaidey Bahadun and Nur Daniea Affrina Delwie followed by Mohammad Helmin Jasman and Azmi Shuaid also from NYCKK while in third place was the team of KYC Michael R Hastie and Dr Ho Siang Boon.

For the Laser Overall, team KYC Muhd Zahimulhakim Zainal won gold with Nasiruddin Harun of Brunei Darussalam Yacht Association (BDYA) and Chow Khai Seng winning silver and bronze, respectively.

Winning the gold in the Optimist Novice overall was KYC’s Bibi Qeesha Mohd Faizal with silver won by Muhd Iftittah Andi Mallabbang  of Sabah Sailing while bronze was won by Koh Yi Long of Tawau Yacht Club.

KYC’s Wong Xiang won the optimist overall gold while Sabah Sailing’s Muhd Asnawi Iqbal Adam and Muhd Syahieradham Raiman bagged the silver and bronze.

The prizes were presented by Shim, Syed Ahmad and KYC vice commodore Ronald Cooke.-SabahNewsToday


Berita Berkaitan